Sejarah Indonesia


Bali is the last remaining large Hindu enclave in Indonesia. It is world famous for its arts and music.

Northern Bali came under Dutch control starting in 1849; the southern part did not completely give in until 1908.

Klungkung was the seat of the chief king of Bali from 1710 until 1908. Before that, the chief king was at nearby Gelgel.

Powerful kings also ruled from Mengwi, north of Denpasar. Denpasar is the capital today.

The kingdom of Buleleng in the north intervened in eastern Java in the late 1600s.

The kingdom of Karangasem (around Amlapura) attacked Lombok in the late 1600s, but later became a dependent of Balinese kings on Lombok.

In 1958 Sunda Kecil or Lesser Sunda province was divided into the three provinces of Nusa Tenggara Barat, Nusa Tenggara Timur, and Bali.

Main Map

Nusa Tenggara Jawa Timur
Beginnings to 1500  1500 to 1670  1670 to 1800  1800 to 1830  1830 to 1910  1910 to 1940  1940 to 1945  1945 to 1950  1950 to 1965  1965 to 1998  1998 to 2001  2001 to Today

Sejarah Indonesia · · Indonesia Pages · Bookstore · Sejarah Indonesia Store